View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:09 pm



Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Question about monitors 
Author Message
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Question about monitors
All this chit chat about ultra wides so what about the 27" 2560x1440 monitors?
Would one be a substantial upgrade to my current monitor?


Wed Feb 05, 2014 6:52 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Question about monitors
I would personally say so. 1080p on 27" just doesn't look very good (my dad has one) compared to my 1440p 27".

Is it worth $500 though? Probably not. You'd want to move to 30" I think so you feel like your "upgrading"

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:31 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Question about monitors
jdrom wrote:
I would personally say so. 1080p on 27" just doesn't look very good (my dad has one) compared to my 1440p 27".

Is it worth $500 though? Probably not. You'd want to move to 30" I think so you feel like your "upgrading"

I think you misunderstood me. Or maybe me you.
My current monitor is 1920x1080
I was considering a 27" 2560x1440 but then again..not.
since 30" are just way too expensive im gonna try the ultra wide for gaming.
Im buying it locally so I have 30 days to decide whether I like it or not.


Thu Feb 06, 2014 7:04 am
Profile ICQ
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: Question about monitors
i just planced an order for an i1 Colormunki Display calibrator. i am excited. my previous calibrator was a Spyder2, which was useless for modern LED based monitors.

i plan doing some testing and see how accurate my last calibration was, which was done by using one of the Spyder3 Pro that i borrowed from work.

i am also going to for the first time attempt to calibrate my Samsung 60inch ES8000 LED TV by using the HCFR calibration software. it's gonna be quite a bit of work and a daunting process. consider the TV calibration isn't automated like monitor calibration, it's gonna take lots of tweaking and playing around, wife's gonna hate me.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:05 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Question about monitors
Comixion wrote:
jdrom wrote:
I would personally say so. 1080p on 27" just doesn't look very good (my dad has one) compared to my 1440p 27".

Is it worth $500 though? Probably not. You'd want to move to 30" I think so you feel like your "upgrading"

I think you misunderstood me. Or maybe me you.
My current monitor is 1920x1080
I was considering a 27" 2560x1440 but then again..not.
since 30" are just way too expensive im gonna try the ultra wide for gaming.
Im buying it locally so I have 30 days to decide whether I like it or not.

I understood you, maybe my post wasn't too clear.

If you had a smaller-than-27" monitor at 1080p, say 23", and you were upgrading to a 27" 1440p monitor, that would be all fine and well.

Side-stepping from a 27" 1080p to a 1440p seems pointless though. You'll see improvements in fidelity/sharpness, but the size will be the same so there won't be much of a "WOW" factor.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:16 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Question about monitors
Yea I found that out watching a few demos on youtube with 2x 27" monitors side by side . One at 1080 and one at 1440.
Really no difference to speak of.
If they were more generous with the 30"ers I would get one.
you would think by now prices would come down.


Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:19 am
Profile ICQ
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: Question about monitors
if we're all getting technical, watching videos and movies, you should always watch it on the native resolution of the video. since 1440P monitor will need to up-res and stretch the pixels to fit 1440, the result is it's gonna look the same or worse than watching it on a 1080 monitor if the video is 1080.

the real difference comes in while playing games and other tasks like design and editing. you'll see a sharper image in 1440 at the same size, and due to the higher dense pixels, you "might" be able to lower your MSAA setting, since there's already more pixels to begin with compare to 1080, less edge up-res is needed to get rid of the jagged.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:58 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Question about monitors
The AOC q2963 was my choice.
And in short let me just say awesome.
picture quality just ootb is better than I thought.
The extra real estate is fantastic with gaming. FOV greatly improved.
No motion blur with BF3 at all that I have seen. The game recognized the resolution immediately.
Im pleased thus far.


Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:04 am
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Question about monitors
In BF4, you should be able to increase the FOV to make better use of the real estate too.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:39 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.