View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Jun 26, 2017 10:11 am



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Haaalp? 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:13 am
Posts: 296
Location: Louisiana
Post Haaalp?
I just installed Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit, and I think I might be havin some growing pains. Everything was working just fine right up until I put it on.

I didn't re-format before I installed it - opting instead to have it create the "Windows.old" directory for my stuff so I could retrieve it later. I'm starting to wonder if I should have re-formatted.

Anywho, here are the symptoms:

1) The system hangs every single time on the splash screen for like 3 minutes. This is my biggest annoyance.

2) I can't seem to find a digitally signed Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro Win 7 64 bit driver anywhere in the internets. I'm trying to run BF3, and the sound is all shitty using the default Windows drivers.

3) Not a symptom, but a question: are there any performance tweaks for Win 7 that I should know about? I found an option somewhere in the appearance settings to optimize for best performance, but I got a feeling that there's more I can fiddle with.

4) Another not symptom/question: Are there any diagnostics I can view in the OS that will tell me what errors it may encounter when something hangs up?

Any help is appreciated. I'm seriously considering re-formatting and starting over.

System specs:

Asus P5N-E SLI
4 GB DDR2
Core 2 Duo E8400
GTX 460
Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro
some other doo-dads that probably don't matter.


Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:19 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:13 am
Posts: 296
Location: Louisiana
Post Re: Haaalp?
Aight it's been like 10 mins and no one has cured my problem yet. I'm about to join Occupy.


Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:36 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Haaalp?
DoK wrote:
Aight it's been like 10 mins and no one has cured my problem yet. I'm about to join Occupy.



lol

Yea why don't you lazy bums help this guy out?


Tue Nov 01, 2011 3:34 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Haaalp?
1) No idea, possibly bad driver or hardware I'd say.

2) Really? Should be able to get one from Creative...

3) Not really, it runs fast as-is.

4) Event Viewer may provide insight.

Windows 7 "pushs" RAM a lot harder, so maybe it's not entirely stable? Not sure if you have any overclocks or such. I know the P5N-E SLI was a pretty flaky board though (having owned 2 myself), especially with memory. Fucking NVIDIA chipsets!

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Tue Nov 01, 2011 3:58 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:13 am
Posts: 296
Location: Louisiana
Post Re: Haaalp?
I don't have anything overclocked. I do have a hard drive that up-chucked shortly after the install that's still plugged in; I guess it could be the culprit?

Creative has one, but it's apparently not digitally signed, as Win 7 likes to point out over and over again like my wife with the "I told you so."

I'm itching for a new build now anyway. Still need to sell the old house before I can drop any coin on toys, though.


Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:48 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Haaalp?
Dude, why do you come in here with such a long list of problems? Why don't you just smash it with a ball peen and be done with it.


lol..."up-chucked". now theres a phrase I have not heard in many a year.

but really DoK...as for the CL card Have you tried downloading CL's Diagnostics program?


2) I can't seem to find a digitally signed Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro Win 7 64 bit driver anywhere in the internets. I'm trying to run BF3, and the sound is all shitty using the default Windows drivers.
Spoken like a true professional. I been trying to say that for years. Onboard sound is crap,crap,crap!


Tue Nov 01, 2011 5:52 pm
Profile ICQ
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:13 am
Posts: 296
Location: Louisiana
Post Re: Haaalp?
Nobody else wants my problems, so I figure this as good a place to dump them as any other.


Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:59 pm
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: Haaalp?
Just reformat and get a new sound card ... 'nuff said.

I hope that solves your problems ... :ugeek:

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Fri Nov 04, 2011 8:22 am
Profile WWW
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Haaalp?
AKHandyman wrote:
Just reformat and get a new sound card ... 'nuff said.

I hope that solves your problems ... :ugeek:

In a nutshell


Fri Nov 04, 2011 1:34 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:22 am
Posts: 502
Post Re: Haaalp?
I'd never suggest upgrading a Microsoft OS...always reformat and start fresh. I use a Creative Labs x-Fi Fatality w/o issue. Just download the latest driver from their website.

It also sounds like you need to disable User Account Control...that's what typically does the nagging. You can find that setting under Users in the Control Panel.

_________________
My Rigs
---------
A Really Fast PC
A Reliable Server
A MacBook Air


Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:34 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 927
Post Re: Haaalp?
DoK wrote:
Aight it's been like 10 mins and no one has cured my problem yet. I'm about to join Occupy.


/going to go pray to my Ronald Reagan shrine.

AKHandyman wrote:
Just reformat and get a new sound card ... 'nuff said.

I hope that solves your problems ... :ugeek:


I have an X-fi "gamer" not quite as 1337 as DoK there, but haven't had any problems since 2007, with multiple formats (roughly 2 a year until 2010) and other "bullshit" (this means viruses I acquired from porn, I like porn).

I'm drunk and high so Ignore me, but have you tried removing all the old drivers, the motherboard sound drivers, and installing a fresh batch of the x-fi fatality drivers?

Try contacting your Mobo manufacturer, maybe they're trying to shove too much down your throat with their drivers and you might be better off getting the bare minimum. Also drivers here. I know it was a bitch for me with my (ancient) e-machine until I found out how to download the bare minimum for my mobo.

_________________
Problem?


Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:41 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:13 am
Posts: 296
Location: Louisiana
Post Re: Haaalp?
Yeah, Ima reformat and reinstall this weekend. I managed to get the Creative WDM drivers through the Windows updater, but the drivers from Creative's website are all shitty.

I couldn't find chipset drivers for my motherboard on Asus's website. I'm wondering if they just never made Win 7 x64 drivers for the P5N-E SLI. Total system overhaul coming after this year's bonus comes in this December, so I don't have to suffer much longer.

*UAC has been off since minute 2 of being in Windows 7. Eff that thing.


Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:08 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:22 am
Posts: 502
Post Re: Haaalp?
If you don't see a chipset driver there's a good chance Windows 7 has it built in.

_________________
My Rigs
---------
A Really Fast PC
A Reliable Server
A MacBook Air


Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:03 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Haaalp?
After teasing you about your CL card I'm now having mine screw with me. I keep losing sound on Youtube when switching from Entertainment mode to Gaming and vice versa. It always requires a reboot to fix and thats ridiculous. I'm ready to ditch CL and grab me an Asus. I only used CL for the convenience of the front I/O panel's volume control.


Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:23 pm
Profile ICQ
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:13 am
Posts: 296
Location: Louisiana
Post Re: Haaalp?
Yeah, anyway, reformatting and reinstalling fixed everything.

I knew you would be concerned if I didn't let you know.


Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:34 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Haaalp?
Thats good. It usually does I always found out. Theres always some leftover "garbage" in the registries that can be hard to clean out even with 3rd party programs such as AML registry Cleaner etc etc.
I should have mentioned this for CL
http://www.paxyoursoundout.com/Paxyours ... Radio.html
It resolved many an issue with me especially when using CL's older Titanium Platinum cards. however, reformats are always a sure thing.


Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:18 am
Profile ICQ
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.