View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:15 am



Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
AMD Phenom II X6 Build 
Author Message
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Very nice build JD, and excellent report. I definitely want you on my web-page as an editor and writer when it comes to doing reviews. You're hired!! :handgestures-thumbup:

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Sat Jul 03, 2010 7:29 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
So JD, you're getting about 400w on full load? It seems to me if I do a similar build, I should get away with a 500w-600w PSU. Well depending on what video card I get.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Sat Jul 03, 2010 8:53 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
AKHandyman wrote:
Very nice build JD, and excellent report. I definitely want you on my web-page as an editor and writer when it comes to doing reviews. You're hired!! :handgestures-thumbup:

Only if I get free hardware! :mrgreen:

dog2525 wrote:
So JD, you're getting about 400w on full load? It seems to me if I do a similar build, I should get away with a 500w-600w PSU. Well depending on what video card I get.

Yeah 600W would probably be adequate. I'd say go with 750W though since you typically don't want to run too closely to peak wattage.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Jul 03, 2010 5:26 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
hey uhh, JD, if you decide that stock amd cooler isn't enough, let me know, i'll take it off your hands if you replace it

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Wed Jul 07, 2010 3:11 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
stlouis1 wrote:
hey uhh, JD, if you decide that stock amd cooler isn't enough, let me know, i'll take it off your hands if you replace it

Sure thing. Might go with water, but we'll see in time.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:01 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
i'm thinking of a water setup....i need water blocks though, maybe a pump, i'm thinking of using the spare fuel pump i have for the car if it'll work

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:19 pm
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
I am thinking that would be an external setup you'd be using ... just how big is that fuel pump anyways?

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:38 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
its a fuel pump for a tercel, the outlet is 3/8, but it'll crank about 70psi, and should run off 12v dc. i have access to a a thermaltake 120mm triple rad, as well as a single that i can borrow. a reservoir should be easy to make shift and i have some pretty highspeed 120mm fans as well, they're louder than the effin tornado's..... all i'd need to buy is at least a waterblock for my x4 and some coolant maybe

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:21 am
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
stlouis1 wrote:
its a fuel pump for a tercel, the outlet is 3/8, but it'll crank about 70psi, and should run off 12v dc. i have access to a a thermaltake 120mm triple rad, as well as a single that i can borrow. a reservoir should be easy to make shift and i have some pretty highspeed 120mm fans as well, they're louder than the effin tornado's..... all i'd need to buy is at least a waterblock for my x4 and some coolant maybe
Coolant? Try windshield washer fluid, the kind that doesn't freeze, like stays fluid @ -20F ... that's what I used. :handgestures-thumbup:

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:42 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
thats a good idea, and its dirt cheap too.....

sorry JD for thread jacking, ill start a new thread for the water block i'm looking at

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:18 am
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
stlouis1 wrote:
thats a good idea, and its dirt cheap too.....

sorry JD for thread jacking, ill start a new thread for the water block i'm looking at
Ahhh ... don't worry about him ... remember who you're talking to ... the prince of thread-jacking ... :text-threadjacked:

But we all know who the King is ... :character-burgerking: ... no not him ... :lol: ... this guy ...Image

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:05 am
Profile WWW
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Quickly playing around, with leaving all the voltages on auto and I got this:

Image

Though the memory is under spec, at only 1100MHz or so and CL9 timings. Next jump goes too high though for the RAM and it won't POST.

And since the picture doesn't show it, it's 4004MHz. Not bad for auto volts :mrgreen: Not sure how stable it was though since I only did this 1M SuperPi.

Also 290MHZ on the bus was a no go. Wouldn't POST, but luckily the board is smart enough to detect that and reset itself. Even comes up with a prompt showing you your settings when it failed.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:23 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Time to revive this thread!

Since I had a bunch of watercooling parts kicking around, I figured I'd put together another loop. This consists of a Swiftech MCR220 (w/ S-FLEX "F" fans), D-TEK FuZion v2, EK FC5870 and my modded pump. Connected all together with Primochill ProLRT UV Red 1/2"ID 3/4"OD tubing and some basic Bitspower 1/2" barbs. Fluid wise, using Feser One UV Red, but you don't really ever see it.

Had a bunch of leaks unfortunately...both radiator barbs leaked and the GPU block leaked. I fixed the radiator by doubling up on the o-rings since the Swiftech radiator threads are recessed a bit. Seems to have solved the leaks. As for the GPU, I had it apart a while ago and I guess I didn't quite get the o-ring in properly, so I had to take the block apart again and reseat it with the help of some Vaseline this time. Leak-free once again :)

I must say, the HAF932 is much easier to work in compared to my FT01 ;) But regardless, I'm still not a fan of the looks of the HAF.

Temperatures look pretty good, both CPU and GPU idle at 28C. Haven't done any major load testing yet, but I run a full 3DMark11 loop (demo and bench) and the maximum temperatures were 36C on the CPU and 34C on the GPU.

Image

Image

Image

And a totally stock 3DMark11 run:

Image

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:39 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Nice JD. But wasn't it you that scolded me because my waterloop didn't match my Mobo? ;)
And you must have a pretty nice camera to make red tubing look "red"


Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:17 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
lol well I matched the case instead since it's the AMD edition of the HAF932 so it's all red ;)

And the first 2 pictures are more orange to me, but the 3rd one is nice rich red. So long as it's not in direct light (which the first 2 are), the tubing looks red.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:14 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
jdrom wrote:

And the first 2 pictures are more orange to me, but the 3rd one is nice rich red. So long as it's not in direct light (which the first 2 are), the tubing looks red.

Yep I noticed that. I was refering to the 3rd one. I happen to be sitting here with my daughter's Nikon trying to figure out all these crazy settings. Hoping to become an overnight sensational photographer. :roll:


Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:48 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
UV lighting would probably help quite a bit...maybe I'll get a 12" tube when I have other things to order ;)

Rear fan is a Xigmatek 140mm Red LED and there's the original 200mm Coolermaster Red LED fan in the front of the case.

Also stepped down the radiator fans (S-FLEX F) to 7V to make the PC pretty much silent.

Here's the night shot:

Image

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sun Jun 26, 2011 4:33 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Upon further thinking, I decided that sound card (Xonar DX) looked ugly sitting above the lovely nickel backplate, so I moved it under the GPU.

Image

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sun Jun 26, 2011 4:54 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Awesome build there JD :)

I'm looking to do something similar with a setup here, but I'm unsure if I'll be water cooling it tho :D Trying to make it as energy efficient as possible :)


Tue Jun 28, 2011 3:47 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.