View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:14 am



Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
AMD Phenom II X6 Build 
Author Message
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post AMD Phenom II X6 Build
...coming soon :mrgreen:

New parts:
  • AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
  • Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
  • G.SKILL F3-10666CL7D-4GBECO (2X2GB DDR3-1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.35V)
  • Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
  • Samsung SH-S243D/BEBE

And a few "old" parts:
  • Sapphire Vapor-X HD4890
  • Antec TruePower Quattro 850W
  • HT Omega Claro

All of which will all be going into a Cooler Master HAF932 AMD Edition. Very suiting case for this build, follows the whole AMD Vision pretty well. Guess it should have HD5000 series graphics though :whistle:

And possibly have the CPU water cooled in the near future. All I really need is another pump and it'd be good to go.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:16 am
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
I'd love to see how all that fits into that HAF932 case. I have been asked to "build" an AMD gaming rig and you pretty much have listed the same parts I would have used. The only difference would be the video card and PSU. I told the prospective customer that an XFX HD5850 or 5870 would be the cat's meow. I would use a Silverstone PSU over an Antec any old day.

My only question for you is why the Gigabyte board? What's wrong with the ASUS Crosshair?

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Fri Jun 25, 2010 1:53 pm
Profile WWW
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
AKHandyman wrote:
My only question for you is why the Gigabyte board? What's wrong with the ASUS Crosshair?

Super expensive? Utterly pointless? This isn't going to be an extreme OC'ing machine. Unless you're doing extreme cooling methods (DI/LN2), I don't really see the point in RoG boards (having owned a Maximus Formula). Sure they look pretty and have extra sensors, but otherwise, I don't have the means to really push things to the limits. Typical day-to-day use and mediocre OC'ing does perfectly well on mid-range boards.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Jun 25, 2010 2:38 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Case showed up today!

Image

Image

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:26 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
oooo.
I too am thinking of going with an amd build as they are so cheap nowadays. And anything now is faster than my opteron 146.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Wed Jun 30, 2010 12:10 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Nice floor.


Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:30 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Comixion wrote:
Nice floor.

lol ty, guess I should of cleaned up those styrofoam balls though

Guessing the case is too red for you :lol:

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:00 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
jdrom wrote:
Comixion wrote:
Nice floor.

lol ty, guess I should of cleaned up those styrofoam balls though

Guessing the case is too red for you :lol:


Too red. Needs just a little green. ;)

j/k though. It's a nice case. Looks like a nice cooler.


Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:20 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Well Purolator came about half an hour ago!

Image

Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H

Image

Image

Image

Image

Really solid looking board with amazing quality. Everything is finished perfectly IMO. I may be picky, but I've found some boards to have the heatsinks scratched up, which just looks bad. Looks pretty well laid out as well. Has all the latest and greatest SATA3 and USB3 which should hopefully prove useful in the future.

G.SKILL F3-10666CL7D-4GBECO

Image

Image

Nothing too special here. Low-voltage (1.35V) so the heatsinks aren't too big. Seems to have some ventilation holes on the top though which was interesting.

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T

Image

Image

Image

Fairly typical looking AMD CPU. I see they haven't changed much since the s939 days when I used AMD. Even the heatsink is pretty similar, though it has a couple extra heatpipes. Hopefully it's not too noisy and can keep the X6 adequately cool.

No closeups of the HDD or DVD-RW since they're pretty boring to look at.

Should have it up and running by the evening if all goes well :mrgreen:

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:19 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Nothing like pics of new HW.

What is it with Gigabyte and "blue"?


Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:28 am
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Comixion wrote:
What is it with Gigabyte and "blue"?

All their boards follow the same colour scheme basically. Gives them their identity and stands out from the rest (for the most part). ASUS and MSI typically go for black PCB these days.

Here's a few more photos:

Image

Image

Image

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:39 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
You need to give me photography lessons JD. Nice closeups.


Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:02 am
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 10:22 am
Posts: 948
Location: Charlotte, NC
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
I need a macro lens for my Nikon.

_________________
Mac Pro
CPU: 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon — Board: Intel 5000X Chipset Apple Motherboard — Mem: 2 x 1024MB + 2 x 2048 MB DDR2 FB-DIMM 667 MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT — HDD: 1 x 60GB SSD + 1 x 250GB HDD + 1 x 640GB HDD + 1 x 2TB HDD — OS: Dual-Booted Mac OS X and Windows 7


Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:21 am
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Great pics Jeffrey!! I always appreciate someone who takes their time in composing good shots. And I do recommend you taking Comixion up on his request. :mrgreen:

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:29 am
Profile WWW
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
It's only a Canon Rebel XS with the cheapest of cheap 18-55mm non-IS kit lens. You guys just need to learn how to use your equipment ;)

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:32 am
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
jdrom wrote:
You guys just need to learn how to use your equipment ;)
I am assuming you're talking to Comixion on that one ... I think I do fairly well with my Sony DSC-W5 ... and that has no interchangeable lenses ... :D

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Fri Jul 02, 2010 11:44 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 10:22 am
Posts: 948
Location: Charlotte, NC
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
jdrom wrote:
You guys just need to learn how to use your equipment ;)


That's what she said (rimshot).

_________________
Mac Pro
CPU: 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon — Board: Intel 5000X Chipset Apple Motherboard — Mem: 2 x 1024MB + 2 x 2048 MB DDR2 FB-DIMM 667 MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT — HDD: 1 x 60GB SSD + 1 x 250GB HDD + 1 x 640GB HDD + 1 x 2TB HDD — OS: Dual-Booted Mac OS X and Windows 7


Fri Jul 02, 2010 12:04 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
AKHandyman wrote:
jdrom wrote:
You guys just need to learn how to use your equipment ;)
I am assuming you're talking to Comixion on that one ... I think I do fairly well with my Sony DSC-W5 ... and that has no interchangeable lenses ... :D

Yeah, I still have my W5 as well. It's still a pretty solid camera considering it's a point-n-shoot.

Nataku wrote:
jdrom wrote:
You guys just need to learn how to use your equipment ;)


That's what she said (rimshot).

I was expecting a comment like that :lol:

Anyways, got it all together and took it outside for some pictures. No close-ups though as the sun was burning hot.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Cable management was a breeze with all the space in this case. Got everything tucked away pretty neatly, compared to my PC. Sleeved all the fans and front panel stuff of course. I wish it was painted black internally as it would of looked far better. Maybe later down the road I'll paint it.

The tool-less 5.25" bays and expansion slots kind of suck. The 5.25" ones only hold snug on one side, so pressing eject on the DVD-RW results in the drive getting pushed inwards. Had to put a screw in on the other side. Similar issue with the expansion slots, they don't hold very tight so the cards still have a bit of play. Also I had to look up the instructions on how to use them...

Have yet to fire it up though, so hopefully it all works Also need to look into some ideas on how to light up the dragon sufficiently to make it more visible.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Jul 02, 2010 12:45 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Got it all up and running, had a little issue though to begin with. Apparently "AMD C1E" should not be enabled or at least not with this CPU. Enabling it resulted in Windows 7 locking up instantly. Otherwise, the rest of the power management features seem to work fine. Turbo also is working nicely. I've seen up to 3.6GHz with single-thread (SuperPi) and 3.3GHz on all 6 cores while running Prime95.

Memory had to be manually set (it defaulted to 1.5V, 9-9-9-24), but it seems to be running stably at 1.35V 7-7-7-21. I know RAM is typically an issue with AMD builds, but that doesn't seem to be the case here.

Stock cooling seems to do a superb job as well, I see about 24C idle and under Prime95, close to 50C. Stays nice and quiet until it's under 100% load. Then it gets audible, but not annoyingly loud.

Idle Temperatures

Image

Load Temperatures (15min Prime95, Large FFTs)

Image

And here's a couple benchmarks thus far:

SuperPi 1M

Image

SuperPi 32M

Image

PCMark Vantage x64 Professional

Image

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Jul 02, 2010 5:42 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD Phenom II X6 Build
Couple more benchies

3DMark06

Image

3DMark Vantage - Performance

Image

CrystalDiskMark x64 w/ WD Black 640GB on the AMD SB850

Image

Of course, it doesn't keep up to my 4.2GHz i7 though But still pretty decent for a fully stock machine IMO.

And I also hooked up my power meter and found the following:
1-2W when powered off. There's this EuP option in the BIOS too which sounds like Gigabyte's own technology for reducing standby power. Seems to be working I guess.
170W while Windows is loading up
150W once it settles down and becomes fully idle
265W while running Prime95 Large FFTs
400W while running Prime95 Large FFTs + OCCT GPU

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Jul 03, 2010 7:15 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.