View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:21 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Going to upgrade plus use old parts 
Author Message

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 10:27 am
Posts: 2
Post Going to upgrade plus use old parts
Hi I amm new to this site I now have a Gateway DX4710-09 With 6g and just added a ssd 240g Worked fine after some work around I am going to use an ASUS F2A85-M PRO with a new Case Midtower & 450 power supply & 8g 2x4 DRR3 1600. Would like to use my ssd & load Win 7 Pro Shold i Keep my old drive. I changed it to F. drive it is 650g. My CPU now is Intel & my new motherboard has AMD. Any thoughts.


Sun Dec 14, 2014 10:42 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Going to upgrade plus use old parts
The only thing I would suggest is formatting the drive and installing Windows fresh.

As to keeping the 640GB hard drive, that's up to you. If you need the space, sure why not, if the 240GB SSD is sufficient, just use that. I'd only store things like pictures, videos, documents on the hard drive regardless. You want Windows and any programs/games on the SSD.

And welcome to the forums!

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:12 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 10:27 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: Going to upgrade plus use old parts
Thank you I heard that intel & amd are not compatable so yes I am going to install win 7 after a new format on the ssd and on the hdd do i need to do any thing but remove win 7.


Sun Dec 14, 2014 8:14 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Going to upgrade plus use old parts
You could even leave your HDD as-is, as long as it isn't set as your first boot device.

But yes, you can delete the Windows folder and Program Files folders

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Mon Dec 15, 2014 3:40 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.