View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:01 am



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Disabling Internet Access 
Author Message
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Disabling Internet Access
Are there settings in an android tablet such as the Samung Note 8.0 to prevent it from "ever" accessing the internet via ATTs 4g.....not wifi. It has a 300mg limit per month (which they said I have to have) and its my granddaughter's and I dont want her racking up bytes. Only the wifi at home.


Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:43 am
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Disabling Internet Access
There should be an option called "Mobile Data", disable that.

If it's Android 4.x, it should be under Settings\Data usage.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:58 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: Disabling Internet Access
if it's android 4, there should also be options to cap the data usage so it stops using data once it's reached the limit no? I know I have an option for that

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Wed Sep 25, 2013 8:49 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Disabling Internet Access
stlouis1 wrote:
if it's android 4, there should also be options to cap the data usage so it stops using data once it's reached the limit no? I know I have an option for that

Oh yea...sheesh.....I use that to limit my cell phone to the 3gbs plan I have.


Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:22 am
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Disabling Internet Access
Hmmm....for some reason this one does not have the option to manage or set data usage limit in the "data usage" menu. Although online I checked and other devices like this one do. So Im assuming maybe a sw update. But this one shows the sw is up to date.


Sat Sep 28, 2013 5:08 am
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Disabling Internet Access
Evidently ATT did it for me. I originally had a 2gb plan on it and called them to remove internet altogether but was told I was required to have at least a 300mb plan which I didnt want since its hard to govern a 5yr olds internet connectivity so I accepted.
However when I just did a test in my house and turned off the wifi to see if it would pick up ATTs 4g.....it would not at all. The tablet will not connect except via wifi. Also the number it was originally assigned is no longer showing on my account. Which is fine.
So is th8s something they did? Saying they disabled it from being able to connect other than wifi.
Thats what I wanted in the first place.
And how was your day?


Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:17 pm
Profile ICQ
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.