View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Jun 24, 2017 11:46 pm



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Windows struggling 
Author Message
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Windows struggling
Lately windows has been running a little slow. (W7). On startup it seems to take a little longer than usual and once it gets to the desktop it takes a few seconds for all the icons to appear. And on occasion just opening different windows has hesitation. I know the first thing you will say is I need an SSD and the second thing you say will be I need an SSD.
Anyways, can a HDD start going bad without necessarily showing it in scans?


Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:48 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: Windows struggling
here's something you can try

http://howto.cnet.com/8301-11310_39-201 ... windows-7/

have you checked your event viewer? there could be a service or driver failing to load because it's not there anymore, but windows might still be trying to load it. we see this a lot at work, logmein for example, once it's removed, it doesnt remove everything, generates alerts for services failed to start constantly, piece of crap

try downloading autoruns from the sysinternals site and see what's being loaded at startup

it could be your user account being gummed up that's causing the slowness. too many people mistake long logins for long startup times because if there's only one account on the machine and no password, then it tends to just autologin on startup.

try creating a second user account on the computer, and log into the other user, then reboot

on reboot, see how much time it takes to get to the log in screen, then see how much time it takes to log into the new user account, then log out and compare how long it takes to log into your previous account

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:28 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Windows struggling
Yes, buy a SSD and install Windows 8. Boot times will be a thing of the past (typically within 10 seconds).

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Jul 17, 2013 3:29 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Windows struggling
Windows 8? Sounds freightening.


Wed Jul 17, 2013 6:08 am
Profile ICQ
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: Windows struggling
nah.. just buy an SSD. that'll fix your problem.

i recently FINALLY got my Crucial M4 256 for the HTPC rig in the living room. mind you that rig is hooked up to the home surveillance and recording 24/7, and it's also our main media center for TV, DVR, Blu-ray, Netflix, internet browsing, and some light gaming. all these things make the rig really slow to boot up, since it has to load a billion programs when it boots. even tho we don't reboot it very often, and it's always on 24/7. but everytime we reboot it for whatever purpose, it takes years for it to fully load into windows. with the SSD, it's like almost instant. i am thinking of getting another SSD for the gaming rig too, cause now that one seems like snail in comparison. after using SSD, you won't want to wait for anything.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:57 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Windows struggling
Home surveillance?
Like that movie "Lawless" only modern day?


Wed Jul 17, 2013 9:28 am
Profile ICQ
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: Windows struggling
yup. wireless too with night vision. i am looking to get 2 more to cover the rest of the house.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Wed Jul 17, 2013 9:34 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Windows struggling
That bad around there ? Or just being safe. Where, may I ask, do you live again?


Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:04 am
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Windows struggling
Ok so I go get me an ssd. I just went through the agony of reinstalling windows and doing updates. I gotta do this again? And what SSD do you suggest and the size


Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:25 am
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 10:22 am
Posts: 948
Location: Charlotte, NC
Post Re: Windows struggling
I buy OWC SSDs. They are practically identical to OCZ if you prefer that brand. And as far as size, get as much as you can afford?

_________________
Mac Pro
CPU: 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon — Board: Intel 5000X Chipset Apple Motherboard — Mem: 2 x 1024MB + 2 x 2048 MB DDR2 FB-DIMM 667 MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT — HDD: 1 x 60GB SSD + 1 x 250GB HDD + 1 x 640GB HDD + 1 x 2TB HDD — OS: Dual-Booted Mac OS X and Windows 7


Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:39 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Windows struggling
What size do I "need" to afford? I mean....is it ussd to just to install windows onto?


Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:48 am
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Windows struggling
stlouis1 wrote:
here's something you can try

http://howto.cnet.com/8301-11310_39-201 ... windows-7/

have you checked your event viewer? there could be a service or driver failing to load because it's not there anymore, but windows might still be trying to load it. we see this a lot at work, logmein for example, once it's removed, it doesnt remove everything, generates alerts for services failed to start constantly, piece of crap

try downloading autoruns from the sysinternals site and see what's being loaded at startup

it could be your user account being gummed up that's causing the slowness. too many people mistake long logins for long startup times because if there's only one account on the machine and no password, then it tends to just autologin on startup.

try creating a second user account on the computer, and log into the other user, then reboot

on reboot, see how much time it takes to get to the log in screen, then see how much time it takes to log into the new user account, then log out and compare how long it takes to log into your previous account



Thanks...that helped a lot. Things are going smooth now. :clap:


Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:05 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: Windows struggling
glad that helped.

I think addressing the root cause of the problem might be key. you can't just reinstall everything or throw money at a problem without fixing the root cause

SSD's are fantastic, don't get me wrong, but a system can still boot slow after a while of getting gummed up if you don't address the correct issue. This is my way of saying you should still get an SSD, especially now that things are going better ;) just think how awesome it could be now. some SSD's even come with software to clone your drives, saves reinstalling

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:19 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 10:22 am
Posts: 948
Location: Charlotte, NC
Post Re: Windows struggling
Comixion wrote:
What size do I "need" to afford? I mean....is it ussd to just to install windows onto?


Ideally you want the OS and all applications on the SSD. Minimum enough room for OS.

_________________
Mac Pro
CPU: 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon — Board: Intel 5000X Chipset Apple Motherboard — Mem: 2 x 1024MB + 2 x 2048 MB DDR2 FB-DIMM 667 MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT — HDD: 1 x 60GB SSD + 1 x 250GB HDD + 1 x 640GB HDD + 1 x 2TB HDD — OS: Dual-Booted Mac OS X and Windows 7


Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:44 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Windows struggling
240GB is typically adequate. That's what my OS and apps are on.

Then I have my 480GB Mushkin Chronos with all my games, a 480GB RevoDriveX2 with all my VM's and a 120GB as a "scratch" disk so to speak.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:47 am
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: Windows struggling
heh, I use small SSD's compared to JD

my DJ box has a 60gb SSD plus 750gb hard drive, but its special purpose and needs minimal application space

my Macbook has a 128gb with 40gb free

my i7 hackintosh has a 128gb plus 500gb hard drive

my i7 gaming system has a 2x60gb plus 750gb hard drive

my linux machine has a 60gb ssd for OS and applications and 3x1tb drives for storage

and my media center has a 120gb, though I've been looking at some of the games I have and thinking I might want to try more of them on the HTPC than I initially thought. it's crossed my mind that maybe 120gb may not have been enough....but i'm not sure yet

depends on your needs really and how much you want to spend. personally, I've had little need for anything over 128gb, 60-128gb has been enough for me to store my OS and software on all the machines I have with SSD's and use hard drives for personal data. if and SSD fails on me, i'm not hurt at all by it, other than the time to restore an OS from a backup image

it depends on the size of your OS and applications combined as well, and how much of it you really want to prioritize. also consider what data your willing to risk as SSD's are still kinda more prone to failure depending on who you ask

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Thu Jul 18, 2013 5:17 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Windows struggling
My desktop has a 120 GB Intel x25m, and the t400 has a 60gb vertex plus. It simply works.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:08 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.