View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 2:24 pm



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Windows 7 pro slow startup and shutdown after RAM upgrade 
Author Message

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:18 am
Posts: 35
Location: Trenton, ON
Post Windows 7 pro slow startup and shutdown after RAM upgrade
Hey guys, i'm stumped on this one...I went from 4gb to 8gb, and now windows takes several minutes to start up...like the black screen with the windows logo hangs for just over 2 and a half minutes, and then once the login screen appears, i log in, and it takes forever to become usable...immediately prior to swapping the RAM, it took no longer than 30 seconds for a start up or shutdown...the new ram is 5-5-5, the old was 4-4-4 however the voltage and frequency is the same, i'm running 400mhz bus, multiplier of 8 for 3.2ghz on the CPU, and i have my RAM/FSB divider set so that the RAM is 1:1, so they are still at their specified voltage and speed of 800mhz DDR2, i know the 5-5-5 latency is not responsible for an added full 2 minutes of startup time, and i've googled the issue, and many others have experienced the same problem, but i have no been able to find an answer. any thoughts?

_________________
Intel Core2 Q9400 3.2ghz / DFI Blood Iron P35 T2RL / 8gb G.Skill DDR2 800mhz / ATI Radeon HD 5850 1gb / WD Black 500gb (SSD soon) / Antec HCG 620W / Antec 300 / Windows XP pro/7 pro x64/Ubuntu 12.04 / Samsung Syncmaster P2370 23"


Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:48 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: Windows 7 pro slow startup and shutdown after RAM upgrad
i bet if you run a memtest 86 you'll get a bunch of errors within few seconds.

my guess is that it's either incompatible with your current setup, or it's causing the CPU, or NB to be unstable that it's adding more stress to the memory controller. either case, can you take out the new one, and run memtest 86 on the old, and swap out the old on and put new ones in and run memtest86 again. this case you'l at least know if the new ones are faulty or not. if old/new all run fine by themselves, you'll know it's probably the added stress on the memory controller, might have to up the voltage on the NB or Vram.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Fri Nov 02, 2012 12:17 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Windows 7 pro slow startup and shutdown after RAM upgrad
I agree with BAM. I just swapped from XMS3 4GB at CL7 to Patriot 8GB at CL9. Don't feel a difference. I would prefer the lower timings but I need the extra capacity more now.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:17 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:18 am
Posts: 35
Location: Trenton, ON
Post Re: Windows 7 pro slow startup and shutdown after RAM upgrad
well the old was 4x1gb and i ran memtest on them before i put them on ebay, and i just ran the new 4x2gb set and got no errors...i did increase the NB voltage a bit which seems to have helped a little bit, but it still takes longer than before...is there a problem with maxing out the capacity of the memory controller?

_________________
Intel Core2 Q9400 3.2ghz / DFI Blood Iron P35 T2RL / 8gb G.Skill DDR2 800mhz / ATI Radeon HD 5850 1gb / WD Black 500gb (SSD soon) / Antec HCG 620W / Antec 300 / Windows XP pro/7 pro x64/Ubuntu 12.04 / Samsung Syncmaster P2370 23"


Sat Nov 03, 2012 5:16 am
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: Windows 7 pro slow startup and shutdown after RAM upgrad
you could try relaxing the timings a notch and see what happens?

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Sat Nov 03, 2012 7:13 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.