View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:30 pm



Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
ITX Domain Controller 
Author Message
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post ITX Domain Controller
Any thoughts? Plan to run Server 2008 R2 on it with the single purpose of being the domain controller. It'll be the primary server, then my Sandy Bridge system will be the 2ndary DC since it seems I have no luck with SB stuff and having my domain down results in uber slow bootup/logon times.

Gigabyte GA-E350N-USB3
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=58835

Mushkin Enhanced Silverline Stiletto 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1333
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=55546

Crucial M4 SSD Micron C400 64GB
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=60444

Antec ISK300-65
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=39960

Comes to $354, plus taxes (less than I've spent on a P8P67 PRO and i5 2500K)

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Mon Jun 06, 2011 3:24 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Buiding servers can be quite inexpensive if you know what to get to get the job done. Well...that rules me out. :(


Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:54 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
What might you use it for JD? Just another file server or a game server?


Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:58 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Phill wrote:
What might you use it for JD? Just another file server or a game server?

Domain Controller...to run Active Directory.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:48 pm
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
So Server 2008 R2 OS resides on this HW? Pray tell then where do your HDs come into play? There are still in the same case you have now, right? I understand the principle, but a little confused as to the actual physical connections ... I can only assume it is via Ethernet cables. But you might want to draw us a picture so Comixion can fully understand what you're doing ... hehe.

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:03 pm
Profile WWW
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
You're over thinking things.

This will run Server 2008 R2 with Active Directory. My other server (the SB one) also runs Server 2008 R2 and has all my storage. I can live without storage for a few days of downtime, but since I have all my desktops joined to the domain, having my domain controller offline is an absolute bitch. It makes log in times around 5 minutes as it attempts to contact the domain controller.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:15 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
AKHandyman wrote:
So Server 2008 R2 OS resides on this HW? Pray tell then where do your HDs come into play? There are still in the same case you have now, right? I understand the principle, but a little confused as to the actual physical connections ... I can only assume it is via Ethernet cables. But you might want to draw us a picture so Comixion can fully understand what you're doing ... hehe.



Hell yea..you know I like pics.


Wed Jun 08, 2011 6:58 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
jdrom wrote:
You're over thinking things.

This will run Server 2008 R2 with Active Directory. My other server (the SB one) also runs Server 2008 R2 and has all my storage. I can live without storage for a few days of downtime, but since I have all my desktops joined to the domain, having my domain controller offline is an absolute bitch. It makes log in times around 5 minutes as it attempts to contact the domain controller.


Sounds very impressive JD, how come you have set it up like this??


Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:59 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Phill wrote:
jdrom wrote:
You're over thinking things.

This will run Server 2008 R2 with Active Directory. My other server (the SB one) also runs Server 2008 R2 and has all my storage. I can live without storage for a few days of downtime, but since I have all my desktops joined to the domain, having my domain controller offline is an absolute bitch. It makes log in times around 5 minutes as it attempts to contact the domain controller.


Sounds very impressive JD, how come you have set it up like this??

It's basically a small business setup in my house.... ;)

Just doing it for learning purposes really. They don't teach anything USEFUL in school, so I self-teach myself instead. I learn better that way anyhow.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:17 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Sounds even more impressive then :) What are you planning to do with the rig?


Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:34 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:22 am
Posts: 502
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Why the SSD for a domain controller? What is causing your systems to take so long to boot? Your login credentials should be cached so you don't have to always connect to the domain controller.

Why not run virtual machines using Hyper-V or VMWare instead of adding another hardware node? Do you have $$ burning a hole in your pocket?

_________________
My Rigs
---------
A Really Fast PC
A Reliable Server
A MacBook Air


Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:23 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Yes, I have extra money burning a hole in my pocket.

Yes, I run Hyper-V on my current server, but obviously when hardware fails, it fails even harder.

Yes, logins are technically cached, and I've even disable to wait for network via GPO and it still is piss poor login times when the DC is down.

SSD, well, it's only $50 more than a HDD really so why not?

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:13 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
jdrom wrote:

SSD, well, it's only $50 more than a HDD really so why not?


Which one if I may ask.


Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:41 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Vertex are currently the best ones out there I think arent they JD/David??


Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:12 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Comixion wrote:
jdrom wrote:

SSD, well, it's only $50 more than a HDD really so why not?


Which one if I may ask.

I have the Crucial m4 C400 listed in the first post ;)

Phill wrote:
Vertex are currently the best ones out there I think arent they JD/David??

OCZ gimped the Vertex 2 in it's latest iteration but the Vertex 3 (for now) is a champ.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:19 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Geez I wish I could afford one of those. :(


Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:50 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
The Vertex 3 is 6GBPS isnt it JD?


Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:14 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Of course...SATA2 has reached its limits a long time ago ;)

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:24 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
How do you get around that??


Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:56 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: ITX Domain Controller
Sandy Bridge and AM3 both have native SATA3 support....

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:01 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.