View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 12:24 am



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Infamous red X 
Author Message
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Infamous red X
Why does this thing always show on my network icon? Sometimes a red "x"...sometimes a yellow triangle. However I can connect to the internet. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the device and drivers. It does not affect me loggin into Origin but I do sometimes get the "you are offline" when I do try to login but I dont think thats the issue. because I have played online with the red x showing. But it is nonetheless annoying and I dont understand why its always there. Right now its the yellow triangle. Later, it will be a red x. I have googled the issue and tried everything but its not resolved. Is it in my SW? The onboard LAN or in the modem?
I'm gonna try a network card and see if theres a change.


Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:01 am
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Infamous red X
Solved.

Got an ethernet card. Disabled onboard LAN. Red X finally gone. Origin not fussy anymore.
Must have been maybe a faulty onboard lan, or drivers.


Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:00 am
Profile ICQ
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: Infamous red X
... or the loose nut behind the wheel ... :mrgreen:

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:06 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:18 am
Posts: 35
Location: Trenton, ON
Post Re: Infamous red X
i have a similar problem...every so often, i lose my connection, like HTTP or DHCP or something, cause i can still play games online, connect to steam, etc. but web browsers don't work...like if i open firefox, it doesn't even try to load my homepage, it just opens as a blank new tab...i reboot and it's good for another 12 hours or so...it doesn't do it in Ubuntu, just windows...so i know it's not my trusty DFI Blood Iron crapping out on me...

_________________
Intel Core2 Q9400 3.2ghz / DFI Blood Iron P35 T2RL / 8gb G.Skill DDR2 800mhz / ATI Radeon HD 5850 1gb / WD Black 500gb (SSD soon) / Antec HCG 620W / Antec 300 / Windows XP pro/7 pro x64/Ubuntu 12.04 / Samsung Syncmaster P2370 23"


Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:22 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Infamous red X
I said "screw it" and plucked down for this. Best $60 I ever spent. Not an issue whatsoever and BF3 has been a breeze getting online. I figured while I have the $$ just get it. I had my doubts about but not anymore.

http://www.bigfootnetworks.com/killer-2100/


Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:41 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:18 am
Posts: 35
Location: Trenton, ON
Post Re: Infamous red X
that's actually quite expensive for a network card, lol, but i want it for some reason...

_________________
Intel Core2 Q9400 3.2ghz / DFI Blood Iron P35 T2RL / 8gb G.Skill DDR2 800mhz / ATI Radeon HD 5850 1gb / WD Black 500gb (SSD soon) / Antec HCG 620W / Antec 300 / Windows XP pro/7 pro x64/Ubuntu 12.04 / Samsung Syncmaster P2370 23"


Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:26 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Infamous red X
Y'know, the Intel Gigabit CT adapter works just as well and is half the price...

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:02 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Infamous red X
jdrom wrote:
Y'know, the Intel Gigabit CT adapter works just as well and is half the price...

Dammit JD if you would have suggested that sooner I would have bought it. Now you owe me what.......about 30 bucks?. ;)


Fri Dec 09, 2011 9:35 am
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:22 am
Posts: 502
Post Re: Infamous red X
jdrom wrote:
Y'know, the Intel Gigabit CT adapter works just as well and is half the price...


That's what I'm using.

It offloads the network processing which is the same thing the Bigfoot card does, and I'd trust Intel for NICs over Bigfoot.

_________________
My Rigs
---------
A Really Fast PC
A Reliable Server
A MacBook Air


Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:41 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Infamous red X
Avid6eek wrote:
jdrom wrote:
Y'know, the Intel Gigabit CT adapter works just as well and is half the price...


That's what I'm using.

It offloads the network processing which is the same thing the Bigfoot card does, and I'd trust Intel for NICs over Bigfoot.

Yes but Intel doesn't market it for consumer-gamer market ;)

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:02 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Infamous red X
Nonetheless I found an older PCI Netgear ethernet in my closet and it works fine. Have not had any Origin connection issues or even the dreaded red x. So I tookthe bigfoot back and got my $60 :mrgreen:


Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:19 pm
Profile ICQ
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.