View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 2:07 pm



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Power Went Out, now i need a new Router 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 9:50 pm
Posts: 27
Post Power Went Out, now i need a new Router
Hey Guys,

Well my power went out a couple of days ago, and i guess my router died with it. So now i gotta get a new router, i had an old Wireless N Netgear router, that worked pretty well, but now im looking for a gigabit router with support for external storage, here are the models i was looking at, let me know which one is better, or if you recommend something better let me know :D

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6833127215

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6833124296

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6833122326

Thanks


Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:40 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Power Went Out, now i need a new Router
Do not buy the DIR-655. Absolutely shit.

I have a ASUS RT-N16. Very solid and running DD-WRT. Never used USB on it though, so not sure how well it works.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Oct 30, 2010 1:20 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: Power Went Out, now i need a new Router
what netgear router do you have? i wonder if its really dead, could be worth trying to JTAG firmware?

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Sat Oct 30, 2010 4:17 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 9:50 pm
Posts: 27
Post Re: Power Went Out, now i need a new Router
Well after some extensive web searching i found that WNDR3700 is pretty good, i went and grabbed it, so far its pretty good, usb storage is working great, showed up right away on my network, i believe my old netgear is a wnr834b v2, its unresponsive, all the LEDs stay when you turn it on.


Sat Oct 30, 2010 10:11 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: Power Went Out, now i need a new Router
all the leds stay on? are you sure the router is dead and not the AC adapter? my old asus 520g router was doing the same kind of thing, the lan leds stayed on and it didn't respond, wasn't getting enough power from the AC adapter to boot. so i cut the plug and wired it to the 5v on my pc, because it was 5v, would be 12v otherwise and it worked. so i cracked the AC adapter open (what a pain) and replaced a bad capacitor, works fine

but i've recovered those netgear wnr834b v2's with dd-wrt via jtag too, they're easy enough, takes a while though.

obviously, i don't like spending money, i just make shit work, lol

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Sun Oct 31, 2010 4:45 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 9:50 pm
Posts: 27
Post Re: Power Went Out, now i need a new Router
Yea i was thinking of getting a new router already, so its not too bad, just had to get one sooner than i had thought lol, ive already replaced my AC adapter, i got few at work and ill check to see if another one works


Sun Oct 31, 2010 12:17 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.