View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 2:07 pm



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Since I started working in the IT industry, I got the bug for enterprise hardware. I am still a noob, but decided to pull the plug and upgrade my infrastructure a bit. Currently everything is connected through an Asus rt n16 running tomato. Not going to lie, that thing is a beast. Tomato and ddwrt for that matter of fact have plenty of stuff one can play with. But since I wanted to play with Vlans and lacp, I ended up with a dell 5324 fully managed switch and a checkpoint utm edge that I'll use as a router and hopefully a vpn.

I ended up winning the eBay auction on this dell powerconnect for 35 bucks. Talk about a steal! One thing I noticed right away when I powered it up was the fans. Its got two 40mm fans that measured 65 decibels on an app. Not cool at all. What arrived yesterday was two low rpm fans that cost 30 bucks.

Image

Now the issue I found was that Dell likes to play games. Those 3 pin fan headers are not the standard everyone uses. So, a quick repinning of the new fans resulted in this.
Image

And bam!, powered it on to see if everything boots.
Image

testing everything to make sure, it works.
Image

Issue is that because these fans are lower volts, the switch intermittently sees the fans. Thus I get the fan led flickering from green to red. Also, getting logs with no fan, yes fan, no fan, yes fan.
Image

But, its ok. After turning off, logging, everything is sweet and working.
Image

Not to worried about air flow. I'm not planning on utilizing all ports, or maxing its super fast switching bandwidth. I'm looking at 5 or 7 ports here. :D Once I got everything done, I consoled into its interface, assigned an ip address on vlan1 and got the web gui running. Next upgrade, dual nic intel expansion card for the server. :D

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:53 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Summer upgrade:

Wifi on my asus rtn16 was going out. And with the 2.4GHz being saturated due to my neighbors, I said, go big or go home. So I took the bullet and ordered this enterprise grade access point. A UAP-PRO.

Image

My cousin who works for TWC came over and properly installed it. We ran it behind the molding to the end of the wall. Popped a hole and fished it down the wall to the corner behind the tv where I put the switch and server. And best of all, no exposed wires.

Image

Even at the mail box at the end of the drive way, I get full bars on the 2.4GHz. Suck it neighbors. :D

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Last edited by dog2525 on Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:47 am, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Jul 24, 2015 6:48 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Nice, I really like Ubiquiti gear. I have their EdgeRouter Lite and getting the Pro model next week :D

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Jul 25, 2015 1:36 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
jdrom wrote:
Nice, I really like Ubiquiti gear. I have their EdgeRouter Lite and getting the Pro model next week :D


I'm currently using an older checkpoint UTM appliance that needs to be replaced with something more powerful. I was debating between the edgerouter or just virutualize the router with pfsense.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:50 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Got my EdgeRouter Pro all setup :)

I know...I know... I should really swap around eth0 and eth1 so the cables don't cross eachother :P


Attachments:
2015-07-31 14.31.14.jpg
2015-07-31 14.31.14.jpg [ 119.45 KiB | Viewed 1064 times ]

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i
Fri Jul 31, 2015 5:33 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
very nice. Hows the gui on it? Last I read on these, it doesn't compare to the cli.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:20 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
As of v1.7, it's pretty decent. They added a whole "config tree" view where majority of settings can be set without using the CLI, but not the most user friendly either.

What's wrong with CLI though? I did most of the setup over the console port actually.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Aug 01, 2015 12:35 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
jdrom wrote:
As of v1.7, it's pretty decent. They added a whole "config tree" view where majority of settings can be set without using the CLI, but not the most user friendly either.

What's wrong with CLI though? I did most of the setup over the console port actually.

Nothing's wrong with the cli. Just wanted to see how the gui is. My place of employment is Cisco based. The cli is our bread and butter. :mrgreen:

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Sun Aug 02, 2015 12:26 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My TP-Link switch is very much like Cisco IOS, I suspect they might have just stole the code ;)

Ubiquiti's CLI is pretty easy to pickup though.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sun Aug 02, 2015 5:26 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I see Ubiquiti launched some new AC AP's today: https://www.ubnt.com/unifi/unifi-ac Specs look pretty solid. Hopefully these ones don't overheat like their previous AC model.

Granted, I ended up buying a X-Claim Xi-3 a few weeks ago (built by Ruckus). Seems solid thus far, but it's a touch oversimplified. I mainly wanted VLAN-SSID mapping, and it looks like the few remaining features I want are coming in future firmware updates (RADIUS support namely).

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Sep 02, 2015 1:57 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
jdrom wrote:
I see Ubiquiti launched some new AC AP's today: https://www.ubnt.com/unifi/unifi-ac Specs look pretty solid. Hopefully these ones don't overheat like their previous AC model.

Granted, I ended up buying a X-Claim Xi-3 a few weeks ago (built by Ruckus). Seems solid thus far, but it's a touch oversimplified. I mainly wanted VLAN-SSID mapping, and it looks like the few remaining features I want are coming in future firmware updates (RADIUS support namely).


the X-Claim is a pretty nice AP. Was looking at that as well, but its was a bit over my price range. While AC would be nice to have, I can live without the speed bump.

Talking about the range, I cut the grass the other week and listened to Pandora without any hiccups on the 2.4GHz. In the house, the 5GHz coverage is almost everywhere.

My next upgrade is to move the storage off the server on a dedicated NAS/SAN and convert the TS140 to an ESXi box. Thinking of a FreeNAS box with isci over dual or quad nics. This also involves creating a few vlans which should be exciting.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:02 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
dog2525 wrote:
the X-Claim is a pretty nice AP. Was looking at that as well, but its was a bit over my price range. While AC would be nice to have, I can live without the speed bump.

Yeah, works well in my house, but I had to disable the auto-channel scanning. It hops channels way too frequently, so much so that it drops my Ecobee thermostat and Chromecast offline. Mounted it to the ceiling in the basement in the middle of the house. Not ideal... but it's close to all my network gear, and fishing a wire up through these walls is far too challenging.

My signal still drops off a ton going outside my house. Must be that old double-brick construction with wire mesh and plaster on top. Maybe I'll have to throw up an outdoor AP eventually :mrgreen:

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Tue Sep 08, 2015 1:48 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
That's the spirit. Get one on each corner of the house and call it a day. In the south, we have the exact opposite problem. Houses here are made out of paper mache and twigs. That's the reason I get roughly 10 wifi networks at any given time.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Tue Sep 08, 2015 5:10 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
TWC Maxx just got here! My weak point right now is my router.
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4661282226

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Sun Sep 13, 2015 3:20 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What speeds are you supposed to be getting?

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sun Sep 13, 2015 5:44 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Upgrade time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
jdrom wrote:
What speeds are you supposed to be getting?

200/20 is what they advertise on the webs. Like I said, my router is the weak link here. Its pretty much halved right.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:06 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.