View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 12:23 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
pfSense 
Author Message

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post pfSense
so i started toying with pfsense earlier, looking for a new router solution. took a screeny, think an i7 might be abit excessive for this ;)

Image

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:45 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: pfSense
And I thought you were lisping.


Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:55 am
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: pfSense
Yeah I've been running pfSense for a couple months now on a Jetway mITX Atom D525 board. Very stable, no issues at all. I surely don't use anywhere near of all of its features though. Most I use is OpenVPN really.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:50 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: pfSense
well, i'm thinking of virtualizing my x86 router on the new vmware esxi server i'm setting up.

i was going to move my x86 dd-wrt, and still might, but i'm looking at other options, pfsense seems to be the best bet so far but...

right now i'm having issues checking for updates or installing plugins, which may have more to do with the fact thats its running in a virtual machine running vlans and the wan port is behind a router and not directly on my modem which i'm going to try this weekend.

i really would like to run one of toastmans tomato builds, there's no x86 build because most of its code is mipsel specific

so moving the x86 router to a vm seems to be the best bet since the server will be underutilized and ill be able to take down the x86 p3 router i have that probly bleeds watts like no tomorrow

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:13 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.