View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Jun 23, 2017 9:56 am



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Who has the most RAM? 
Author Message
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Who has the most RAM?
I believe Avid6eek has 24GB of RAM or 16GB. I just ordered another 12GB of Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600, which will put me at the max of 24GB (Triple Channel 6 x 4GB). Does any memory company make 8GB memory modules?

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Fri Aug 26, 2011 2:24 pm
Profile WWW
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
What's the overkill limit on RAM anyways?
I have 8GB and heard that was quite enough. Is it not? Then I be gettin' more. ;)


Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:26 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
12GB in my desktop, 16GB in my server.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:38 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:27 am
Posts: 128
Location: Belgium
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
It has been possible to go with a max of 32gb for a while i believe. But I would be slowing my system down with more than 4gb. The more memory you have the longer it has to search trough it to get what it wants. You should try to always have as little overkill as possible to be faster. (Busy)servers are a other thing however.

_________________
Gaming rig: X4 955 - Asus M5A99X EVO - 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 - Sapphire HD6950 - OCZ RevoDrive PCI-EXPRESS SSD 80GB - Corsair GS700 - Watercooled
Anime Server: Athlon LE-1640 - Nvidia 2600 - 2GB apacer ram - 4x WD Caviar green 2TB 64MB SATA600
Notebook: HP Pavilion dm1-3200sb: 11,6-inch - AMD Dual-Core E350 APU 1,6 GHz - AMD HD 6310M - 3GB ram - 500 GB SATA


Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:24 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
PimpMySystem wrote:
It has been possible to go with a max of 32gb for a while i believe. But I would be slowing my system down with more than 4gb. The more memory you have the longer it has to search trough it to get what it wants. You should try to always have as little overkill as possible to be faster. (Busy)servers are a other thing however.

I doubt that's true. Do you have any articles that explain why it would be so?

RAM is much faster than SSDs and especially HDDs so I can't see it making your system slower by having more of it. My computer surely didn't become any slower going from 6GB to 12GB.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:21 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
PimpMySystem wrote:
It has been possible to go with a max of 32gb for a while i believe. But I would be slowing my system down with more than 4gb. The more memory you have the longer it has to search trough it to get what it wants. You should try to always have as little overkill as possible to be faster. (Busy)servers are a other thing however.


i think back in the old S939 AMD days, it used to be true due to the memory controller's weakness in unable to cope with large amount of RAM, as a result, it down clocks itself to handle the extra ram. but that is long gone. modern memory controller in both intel and amd all handle ram well. although i am not sure if it still limits your maximum overclock? anyone have first hand experience? i've filled all my slots with RAMS in my both intel i7 and C2Q system and they're both rock solid. and it performs way faster because windows can cache more.

the way window function is a lot different than other OS's. Windows, which is based on NT technology relies heavily on cache and virtual memory. the more memory and faster storage device you can give it.... the faster it'll perform.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:40 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:27 am
Posts: 128
Location: Belgium
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
jdrom wrote:
PimpMySystem wrote:
It has been possible to go with a max of 32gb for a while i believe. But I would be slowing my system down with more than 4gb. The more memory you have the longer it has to search trough it to get what it wants. You should try to always have as little overkill as possible to be faster. (Busy)servers are a other thing however.

I doubt that's true. Do you have any articles that explain why it would be so?

RAM is much faster than SSDs and especially HDDs so I can't see it making your system slower by having more of it. My computer surely didn't become any slower going from 6GB to 12GB.


No, I haven't read any articles saying so. It is something my teacher IT-management taught. I don't know if he meant it the same way as BAM! or not, makes me doubt it a bit. Even so having more would't make it noticably slower offcourse, I think he was saying that overkill doesn't make it faster, and that if you had like WAY to much memory it would ultimately be slower. But it has been a while since I studied it, I can imagine it could have already been old news back then. I'll check it out later.

_________________
Gaming rig: X4 955 - Asus M5A99X EVO - 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 - Sapphire HD6950 - OCZ RevoDrive PCI-EXPRESS SSD 80GB - Corsair GS700 - Watercooled
Anime Server: Athlon LE-1640 - Nvidia 2600 - 2GB apacer ram - 4x WD Caviar green 2TB 64MB SATA600
Notebook: HP Pavilion dm1-3200sb: 11,6-inch - AMD Dual-Core E350 APU 1,6 GHz - AMD HD 6310M - 3GB ram - 500 GB SATA


Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:49 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:27 am
Posts: 128
Location: Belgium
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
Quote:
Everything in RAM has a memory location, and your CPU fetches the data from a memory location, so if there are many to search through, it will hinder your performance. But also having too few address (too little RAM) would be like taking the longest way possible to find the data, in other words it would have to access your harddrive to find the information.


This is pretty much what he said. It was also related to memory adresses and stuff.

_________________
Gaming rig: X4 955 - Asus M5A99X EVO - 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 - Sapphire HD6950 - OCZ RevoDrive PCI-EXPRESS SSD 80GB - Corsair GS700 - Watercooled
Anime Server: Athlon LE-1640 - Nvidia 2600 - 2GB apacer ram - 4x WD Caviar green 2TB 64MB SATA600
Notebook: HP Pavilion dm1-3200sb: 11,6-inch - AMD Dual-Core E350 APU 1,6 GHz - AMD HD 6310M - 3GB ram - 500 GB SATA


Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:51 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
I'd say that information is extremely dated. With the speed and optimizations done on current-day CPU's, I don't see that being an issue at all.

Maybe back in the Pentium and Athlon era though ;)

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Aug 27, 2011 12:35 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
And here I am thinking that my 4gb is overkill. :D

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Mon Aug 29, 2011 3:01 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
dog2525 wrote:
And here I am thinking that my 4gb is overkill. :D

Hallejuha.....I can remove this paper bag off my head;)


Tue Aug 30, 2011 4:31 pm
Profile ICQ
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
actually my m1330 has 1GB. pretty fast with xubuntu installed

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:41 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
Is there any real advantage to running 1866 over 1600/1333 etc?


Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:42 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
Yeah, MHz is much more beneficial than latency.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:04 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
AKHandyman wrote:
Does any memory company make 8GB memory modules?


The only 2 on Newegg


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820211564

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820233218


Fri Sep 23, 2011 6:33 pm
Profile ICQ
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
you guys remember the good old DDR days of having timings of 2-2-2-5?

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Sat Sep 24, 2011 4:00 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:22 am
Posts: 502
Post Re: Who has the most RAM?
16GB Desktop, 16GB Server. I can use the full 16GB on my server, but I don't come anywhere close on my desktop.

_________________
My Rigs
---------
A Really Fast PC
A Reliable Server
A MacBook Air


Tue Oct 04, 2011 9:16 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.