View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:56 am



Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
question about SSD 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post question about SSD
so i am preparing to buy a Crucial M4 to transfer all my stuff from my current boot drive to SSD, and hopefully with the included transfer kit, and StLouis's Winpe, I can migrate everything over without having to reinstall.

now. i noticed that my current setup BIOS doesn't have the drives in AHCI mode, i think it's currently in IDE. now. will changing that value to AHCI wipe out anything on my drive? as i understand that i need to change it to AHCI in order to run SSD correctly, so question is, should i change it before i migrate everything over to the SSD? or should i migrate everything over with the transfer kit and software first and then change the BIOS to AHCI.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Tue Apr 16, 2013 2:04 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: question about SSD
BAM! wrote:
so i am preparing to buy a Crucial M4 to transfer all my stuff from my current boot drive to SSD, and hopefully with the included transfer kit, and StLouis's Winpe, I can migrate everything over without having to reinstall.

now. i noticed that my current setup BIOS doesn't have the drives in AHCI mode, i think it's currently in IDE. now. will changing that value to AHCI wipe out anything on my drive? as i understand that i need to change it to AHCI in order to run SSD correctly, so question is, should i change it before i migrate everything over to the SSD? or should i migrate everything over with the transfer kit and software first and then change the BIOS to AHCI.


Just changing the setting in the bios to AHCI will cause the system to crash. You'll need to first edit a registry file, restart in bios and change the setting from IDE to SATA. I say first change the settings to AHCI on the HDD, make sure everything is working then migrate everything to the SSD. Here are the steps to change the setting to AHCI. http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=313676

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Tue Apr 16, 2013 2:35 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: question about SSD
cool, thanks dog..

i also just found a similar guide here as well http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976

i'll give those two links a read when i get home.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Tue Apr 16, 2013 2:37 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: question about SSD
BAM! wrote:
cool, thanks dog..

i also just found a similar guide here as well http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976

i'll give those two links a read when i get home.

yep, that's pretty much it.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Tue Apr 16, 2013 3:08 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: question about SSD
it worked! and didn't crash. i changed the setting in the registry and changed the BIOS to AHCI, low and behold everything went fine. i just had to reboot twice. thanks dog!

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Wed Apr 17, 2013 6:51 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: question about SSD
i noticed that AS SSD can check whether TRIM and 4K Alignment is functioning correctly. can someone point how how to check with AS SSD? what to look for?

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:48 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: question about SSD
ok.... what's this whole Msahci vs RST thing.... do i really need to install Intel RST? if it negligible different, than i won't bother. i am looking for maximum stability.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:28 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: question about SSD
my understanding is that unless you're running them in a raid, you can live without the intel rst installed

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Thu Apr 18, 2013 5:12 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: question about SSD
I don't have it installed. Did not see the reason to have it. SSD seems to be working fine.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:43 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: question about SSD
the only reason you might want it is trim, and like i said, i'm pretty sure you only need it for running ssd's in raid and trim wont work otherwise

there is a trimcheck tool if you want to be sure. easy enough to run it without the RST installed and make sure trim is working without it ;)
http://files.thecybershadow.net/trimcheck/

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:25 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: question about SSD
just a quick update.

got the drive yesterday. and after 3 hours of transfer time, i used the bundled transfer kit and software, it WOKRED!!!! everything transfered over and fired up. i used the default msahci and the transfer software did the 4K alignment for me. i did a quick bench and everything looked about right for a SATA 2 speed. sequential read/write are about 260MB/s each, and 4K are 21MB read, and 40MB/write which is on par with the results online. :)

i am super happy thanks so much for all the help guys..

so if you're using RAID SSD, intel RST is able to enable TRIM in RAID? is that it?

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:51 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: question about SSD
not sure about raid, but I'm not running any kind of software for the SSD and TRIM is enabled in windows.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Sat Apr 20, 2013 2:08 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: question about SSD
yeah, trim is enabled for me as well. there's a way to check trim in CMD. i am just curious if Intel RST can do trim in RAID, cause that'll be cool.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Sat Apr 20, 2013 2:28 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: question about SSD
Certain chipsets with certain OROM versions can do RAID0 with TRIM. I think Z77 boards do by default, and X79 boards have been modified to support it as well (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.ph ... IM-in-RAID!)).

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:26 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.