View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Jun 23, 2017 8:24 pm



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
PSU question 
Author Message
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post PSU question
How much voltage do water pumps chew up? With the fact I will be running a GTX 580 and me thinking about going water, I'm gonna be adding a pump of course. The 580 "suggests" at least a 600W alone. Is my HX750 Corsair going to do the job ya think?


Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:27 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: PSU question
The Corsair would be fine for a single card but if your planning on adding more, then I'd definitely suggest something a bit more meaty :)

I've just bought two Corsair AX1200W units for both of my i7 rigs :) They are great PSU's and had a cracking review :D

RIP to my PC Power and Cooling 1200W tho :(


Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:49 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:22 am
Posts: 502
Post Re: PSU question
You should be fine. I wouldn't worry about looking for a more powerful PSU unless you have problems. NVidia's "600w" requirement is for those who use generic PSUs. You'll be fine with your Corsair model.

Like Phill, my system is powered with an AX1200.

_________________
My Rigs
---------
A Really Fast PC
A Reliable Server
A MacBook Air


Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:59 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: PSU question
Avid6eek wrote:
Like Phill, my system is powered with an AX1200.


You were suppose to ease my mind...not rub it in. :mrgreen:


Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:26 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 5:22 am
Posts: 502
Post Re: PSU question
Comixion wrote:
Avid6eek wrote:
Like Phill, my system is powered with an AX1200.


You were suppose to ease my mind...not rub it in. :mrgreen:
Not everyone can have the best hardware like Phil in myself. We wouldn't feel so good about our systems if we didn't know the specs of yours. :mrgreen:

_________________
My Rigs
---------
A Really Fast PC
A Reliable Server
A MacBook Air


Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:55 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: PSU question
Avid6eek wrote:
Comixion wrote:
Avid6eek wrote:
Like Phill, my system is powered with an AX1200.


You were suppose to ease my mind...not rub it in. :mrgreen:
Not everyone can have the best hardware like Phil in myself. We wouldn't feel so good about our systems if we didn't know the specs of yours. :mrgreen:


Yea but you left out AK and his cabin full of odd and strange goings on with HW. I can't wait to go visit him. But then again, how do I get back on my return flight without setting off the metal detectors? mwhahahahahahaha....


Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:02 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: PSU question
Sorry Comixion if I wanted to see about rubbing it in, I'd do something like this:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

How's that?? :)


Wed Mar 23, 2011 1:10 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: PSU question
Very well done of making me covet. But what's up with the toilet paper?


Wed Mar 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: PSU question
Comixion wrote:
Very well done of making me covet. But what's up with the toilet paper?

That bucket on the floor is his toilet. You see after spending all his money on hardware, he can no longer afford the water bill to flush his toilet :lol:

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:42 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: PSU question
I was cleaning the water block so I use toilet tissue to wipe the block off and as for the bucket, its for draining the water loop!! :lol:


Thu Mar 24, 2011 12:50 pm
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: PSU question
Phill ... how old are those pics? I thought you didn't have that hardware anymore ... :think:

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:40 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: PSU question
I still have the hardware mate, just lacking in the GPU department. I'm waiting till I can afford 4 580 3Gb models and then it'll be party time :D Failing that, I'll be getting the newer version, 680 perhaps? Or even an ATI card if they are better... I do still need at last 3Gb of GPU ram on each card to do the things I want :D


Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:54 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.