View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Jun 26, 2017 10:11 am



Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
AMD 
Author Message
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post AMD
Who in here has an AMD setup? Have'nt seen any discussions. So what's up over there? It's been a few years since I last used one.


Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:08 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD
I have a Phenom II X6 1055T and 890GX motherboard...which I'm watercooling tomorrow...

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:23 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 10:22 am
Posts: 948
Location: Charlotte, NC
Post Re: AMD
Roommate is rocking an AMD.

_________________
Mac Pro
CPU: 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon — Board: Intel 5000X Chipset Apple Motherboard — Mem: 2 x 1024MB + 2 x 2048 MB DDR2 FB-DIMM 667 MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT — HDD: 1 x 60GB SSD + 1 x 250GB HDD + 1 x 640GB HDD + 1 x 2TB HDD — OS: Dual-Booted Mac OS X and Windows 7


Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:24 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: AMD
I was just curious. Why do Intel's processors seem a tad overpriced versus AMD's top CPU's? Is it that AMD just isn't doing so well on the market as far as sales? Have they "slipped" so to speak? I always thought they were great gaming processors. But hell you can pick 'em up pretty cheap. Very decently priced. As well as the mobos. Just wondering because like I say, the last time I used one was about 4 to 5 years ago. And the market was more competative.


Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:55 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD
Because Intel CPUs outperform AMD's any day of the week?

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Jun 17, 2011 6:45 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: AMD
jdrom wrote:
Because Intel CPUs outperform AMD's any day of the week?



Correct answer!
You get an A+ on your test. ;)


Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:05 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD
However, for the average computer user, say a mid sixty office worker in a medical clinic, they wouldn't know the difference from an Intel or AMD processor if it jumped out of the PC and slapped them in the face ... :laughing-rolling:

I use Intel, but I build AMD rigs for most, if not all of my customers. Better bang for the buck. TBH, some of the AMD rigs I've built can hold a decent flame to my i7 rig (of course when it's at stock settings 3.4Ghz, Intel that is )

So, AMD is no slouch IMO. It's just they haven't come through with anything that's earth-shattering when it comes performance numbers like Intel has done. But the ratio of performance to dollars is what makes AMD the "bargain brand" of CPUs.

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:58 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: AMD
I have four AMD rigs here that I'm still using everyday :) Well not all of them at once anyways :)


Sat Jun 18, 2011 10:42 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD
Yeah, I'm not saying AMD is bad by any means, they just aren't the performance leader. They're the performance follower. Bulldozer should finally be up to i5/i7 speeds at least though, but obviously Intel's Ivy will probably murder it ;)

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:05 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: AMD
Looking forward to it :)

Its a shame it seems to have become a Intel only race tho...


Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:38 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: AMD
Phill wrote:
Looking forward to it :)

Its a shame it seems to have become a Intel only race tho...


Which used to not be the case not so long ago. My AMD Athlon served me well in it's hayday.


Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:00 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD
I just resurrected an AMD Athlon NF7 board with an Athlon +2400 proc. Win XP/SP3 and the latest drivers for the nVidia nForce chipset. It was a screamer ... oh the things she was telling me ... and what language ... :oops: :mrgreen:

Nice ones, way back in the day!

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:19 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: AMD
Jeff I've got the NF7-S Rev 2 board and I still think its one of the best overclocking boards ever!! :D I'm currently using an XP2600 and a XP2800 in both of my Abit boards :) They will be overclocked of course ;)


Fri Jun 24, 2011 7:24 am
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD
I still have two of those boards in my mobo cemetery ... I think one still has an AMD Athlon +3200 in it ... :ugeek:

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:36 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: AMD
A slight overclock and I'll be right up there :D Wanna have a bit of a mess about with them Jeff?? See if you can get it to go faster than me?? :D


Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:53 am
Profile
Site Owner
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:51 am
Posts: 1345
Location: Tok, Alaska
Post Re: AMD
Naw ... too much other stuff to do around the homestead ... besides ... I don't get much fun out of making little kids cry anymore ... :mrgreen:

_________________
i7-4790K~4.0GHz - ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mark II - 16GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 1600 - Two 512GB Mushkin Reactor~RAID 0 (OS) - One WD 4GB Green (storage) - ASUS Strix GTX970 - Silverstone 1000W PSU - Silverstone Raven v3 - Dell 34" curved 3440x1440 - Win7 Ult 64bit


Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:02 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: AMD
Oh but Dad its ok :D I had a few experiences with my XP 2500 that would have made you cry anyways :D ;)


Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:01 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: AMD
Pfft, I have you all beat! A8N32SLI Deluxe w/ X2 4400+ 1MB L2. It seems to have some ACPI issues as of late though...doesn't shutdown properly.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:05 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Somerset, UK
Post Re: AMD
A friend got given a X2 4200+ and 6Gb of ram, hard drive, case etc all for about £20!! :lol: Shame the motherboard was giving us problems, but aside from that, everything else works a treat!! :D We're just waiting on a replacement motherboard to swap it out and so we can then put it in and get it working :)


Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:09 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 19 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.