View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:22 am



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Poll: what power option do you have set in Win7 

what power option do you run on your desktop
Balanced 50%  50%  [ 3 ]
High Performance 50%  50%  [ 3 ]
Total votes : 6

Poll: what power option do you have set in Win7 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Poll: what power option do you have set in Win7
i am just doing a poll on what power management option you guys all use on yoru i7, i5's for DESKTOP.

i noticed the other day that my desktop apparently was on "high performance". it explains why it was very often stuck in peak clock speed 4.8ghz, and seldom drops to 1.6ghz; although it does drop when there's no activity. i changed to "balanced" and it now drops to 1.6ghz more often, and speeds up to 4.8ghz when needs to.

i am just curious what most folks use on their desktop. i've heard things like balanced still hinders gaming, while others say it doesn't.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:57 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 6:26 pm
Posts: 553
Post Re: Poll: what power option do you have set in Win7
With win 8 and last year with win 7 i ran high performance. Don't need the PC to go to sleep if I run something in the background. With that, I'm not really concerned with energy usage. Price per watt is pretty low down here in the south.

_________________
Thinkpad T410|Thinkpad x1 Carbon
Dell 3007wfp | Desktop is work in progress.


Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:20 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: Poll: what power option do you have set in Win7
Mine is on balanced, no issues here. As you said, only way for it to consistently down-clock when idle.

Though overclock/voltage still results in higher power consumption regardless. When I'm running pure stock, my wattage pulled from my UPS is quite a bit lower if I recall correctly.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:37 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.