View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:51 am



Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
s2011 - 4 or 6 cores? 
Author Message

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
is it really worth going to a 6 core i7? anyone? I mean I do a sh1t ton of multitasking, and leave things open for months at a time, but my quad cores do just fine, should i really double the cost of a chip for an extra 2 cores?

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Fri Apr 12, 2013 2:31 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:07 pm
Posts: 3667
Location: Dallas, Texas, U.S.
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
Well I will let the experts indulge in the specifics of why you should and I ll keep it simple.
Dam right you should and dont feel bad about the etrra 200. Alfhough easier said than done.


Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:11 am
Profile ICQ
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
i just can't stand the extra cost.. i've been waiting for the 6 core to drop down to reasonable price range but it's still hanging high...

my gaming rig is almost due for an upgrade tho. currently Q6600 clocked at 3.7ghz is starting to cap out on games. i also do a lot of X264 encoding, but i use the living room i7 860 for that, which is clocked at 3.8ghz. but would be nice to upgrade the gaming rig to a 6 core so i can encode on that rig instead.

does anyone know how much faster the 6 core i7 is in encoding compare to a i7 860/920?

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:15 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
I have the i7 3930k running at 4.7GHz. 6 cores/12 threads, can't be beat :P

Though unless you need the processing power, invest it 32-64GB of RAM and lots of SSD's. It's more beneficial for multitasking I'd say.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:42 am
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
well that's just it, i mean 6 cores would be great for the video transcoding and virtual machines i tend to run, but i don't do that often enough on either of my workstations since i have two dual quad-core servers running hypervisors, so i don't need virtual machines on my workstations, and my i7 does the video stuff that i do in 5-10 minutes per job where my old system took 40 minutes, and for the amount i do, im not sure if i can justify 6 cores.

ill probly just get a quad and 16gb ram and swap it into my linux machine and move the old phenom x4 to my brother and take his tri-core for my HTPC to give it a little bump.

im already running all my systems on SSD's, so no need to worry there, and i would go 32gb ram, but in my workstations i need more than 8gb for my current workloads, but not much more than 12 really

I figure a 4x4gb kit should do my well for this one. i could put it in my windows machine where games would benefit from the additional memory channels, but that's more work

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:04 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
speaking of SSD,, i've been putting that off for a LONGGG time. mostly because i don't want to have to reinstall windows. it's mainly for my HTPC rig, so reinstalling means re-customizing all the crap that goes along with the whole home theater system. has anyone used the transfer kit that comes with the Crucial M4? i mean i know using the transfer kit might degrade the performance a bit, but i don't care, as long as i get most of the benefits of a SSD, i don't care about sacrificing a bit of performance.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:03 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
BAM,

see here
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=1215

I can get you a copy of the image to put on a key and make bootable, I can give you instructions to capture an image of you're htpc and then you can redeploy it on a new drive as if nothing ever happened.

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:24 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
Mind turning that into a torrent perhaps? I wouldn't mind grabbing a copy. I mean, I could make it myself, but I'm too damn lazy :P Might as well just look at yours and rip pieces out and modify them.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sat Apr 13, 2013 7:23 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
stlouis1 wrote:
BAM,

see here
http://forum.thecomputercabin.com/viewt ... =21&t=1215

I can get you a copy of the image to put on a key and make bootable, I can give you instructions to capture an image of you're htpc and then you can redeploy it on a new drive as if nothing ever happened.


that would be great, you'll have to show me how to do it. my current HTPC is running on Win7. because it's HTPC, i am sure you know, there're LOTS of settings and customizations that went into place over the years, and it'll really suck to have to re-install.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Sat Apr 13, 2013 9:29 am
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
heh, i know the feeling

I spent the last week rebuilding my htpc, started on win8 but couldn't get media portal server to scan my channels without crashing. so I went back to 7 and setup media portal, plus xbmc for a front end now that it has the live tv front end built in. configuring my remote was uhh....a treat, and then had some performance tuning of codecs, plus audio issues to fix with hd stuff. first thing i did when it was finished was capture an image just in case

but ill upload the boot image at work and give you a link and tell you how to make it bootable. keep in mind you'll need either a network share or external hard drive to capture the image too, but i made it fairly simple, plus added some neat additional tools in there that come in useful for other things

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:02 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
Oddly enough, I find Windows Media Center (in Win7) works the best on this Atom D2700DC board I have. MediaPortal and XBMC both lag when playing HD MKV's whereas WMC doesn't. Even the UI of WMC its smooth. Granted it lacks a large number of features with regards to scraping media, but it seems there's some plugins which should fix that.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:30 am
Profile

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:20 am
Posts: 1085
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
i had some lag issues with mkv's as well, turned out to be an issue with my audio settings. but i have xbmc running an amd e350 w/ radeon 6230 upstairs and it works fine. the atom should be able to do it just as well.

media center is ok, but it does lack certain abilities, and imho, plugins don't make up for it as they just clutter the menu more, adding similar options to what already exists. i'm glad to be done with it

_________________
Main System: Intel i7 2600K | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3 | 16gb Corsair 1600Mhz | Zotac GTX660 Ti | 128gb OCZ Agility 4 | 1tb WD Black | Corsair HX850 | FD Arc Midi | Mac OS X 10.8.5
Gaming Rig: Intel i7 3930K | Asus Sabertooth X79 | 32gb Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz | 2x EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 2x Mushkin 60gb SSD (RAID0) | 2tb WD Black | Corsair AX1200i | FD Arc Midi | Windows 8
HTPC: AMD A10-6800K | Asus F2A85-M Pro | 8gb Corsair 1866Mhz | 2x 256Gb Samsung 840 Pro | Antec MicroFusion | Windows 8.1


Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:44 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 6:34 pm
Posts: 1125
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
^^^ i too been using win7 Media center for couple years now. and now with the advancement of LAV Filter, i finally am able to play Lossless audio movies in Media center as well. previously i could only click on each files individually in explore to play it with FFDshow Filter. but now with Shark Code and LAV Filter, all the losless audio movies play seamlessly in Media center. the beauty is no setup is required, the media center remote works by default without having to setup.

_________________
i7 3770K @4.9ghz De-lided w/liquid Pro (1.45vCore) / Black Ice GTS 360mm + 120mm Raditors / Koolance 380i wb / D5 Vario pump
Asrock z77 Extreme6 / 16GB Gskill Sniper DD3 1866
Sapphire R290X Tri-X @1100mhz Core/1400mhz Mem
Crucial M4 SSD 512
Cooler Master Cosmos S


Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:59 am
Profile
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 6:04 pm
Posts: 2188
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Post Re: s2011 - 4 or 6 cores?
I use MediaPortal on my main HTPC.

This Atom is just for the secondary HTPC. I think the killer is that this uses PowerVR graphics, thus crippling all GPU-based tasks.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6850k | ASUS Rampage V Edition 10 | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4-3000
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti | Soundblaster Z
Corsair MP500 480GB, 2x Cruical MX300 2TB, OCZ RevoDrive3 X2 480GB, 2x Seagate 3TB RAID1
Coolermaster Cosmos II | XSPC EX360 + RX240 | Corsair RM850i


Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:54 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Theme Designed by ST Software for PTF.